Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read a Book (Top Ten Tuesday – 18/04/2017)

top te teudays

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read a Book. This one is going to be a little harder this week, mainly because there are a LOT of things that make me want to instantly read a book.

  1. The Cover

The cover, as with a lot of people, is a big draw as to whether a book really catches my eye or not. For example, the cover of WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore was what initially attracted my attention. When I’m browsing NetGalley or Edelweiss, the cover is something that makes me read up on a book to see if I should request it or not. The same can be said when I’m in a bookstore, however, I very rarely impulse buy anymore – I like to research a book and (early) reviews from people I trust a little more now than I used to. Which also brings me onto the next thing that makes me instantly want to buy a book:

      2. Recommendations from certain people

I have a few bloggers that I love and wholeheartedly trust when it comes to books. If they say a book is good, or bad, I’ll usually listen and either add it to my wishlist or completely avoid it.

      3. Twins

Being a twin myself, I’m desperate to see that relationship accurately portrayed in YA fiction, rather than just using offensive and tiresome tropes – which I’ve also written a blog post on titled ‘Twins in Literature‘. I loved One by Sarah Crossan, and The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli and I am ALWAYS on the lookout for more.

     4. Pilots

Since reading Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, which also subsequently inspired my Dissertation on Female Pilots in WW2, I’ve been obsessed with reading about pilots, specifically female pilots. I loved the CNV sequel Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein, I loved Flygirl by Sherri L Smith, and I’m really looking forward to Among The Red Stars by Gwen C. Katz. So if a book mentions a pilot, count me in.

     5. Space

I LOVE space sci-fi. I’m a huge space sci fi geek. I love Stargate, Farscape, Killjoys, Dark Matter, Star Trek, and Star Wars… seriously, I just really love space. So if a book is set in space, then I’m in. I recently read Defy The Stars by Claudia Gray, which I enjoyed. And I am super excited to get my hands on Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza.

     6. Time Travel

Time travel is always a fun theme to read about. I can sometimes take it or leave it, but I’ve read some pretty awesome time-travel books so I am always intrigued. I’d highly recommend The Blazing Star by Imani Josey and The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig.

     7. Retellings

I really do enjoy a good retelling. Doesn’t everyone? I love a good romance, especially a fairytale one. I also love retellings even more if there is a darker undertone to them too, such as Hunted by Meagan Spooner, Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente, and The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden. I am also highly anticipating The Seafarer’s Kiss by Julia Ember, an f/f little mermaid retelling?? Sign me up!

     8. Pirates

I feel like Pirates is something that isn’t done very often in YA, not always done well anyway. But I don’t know why? There is so much story potential there, and I always jump at the chance to read a book that features pirates. Emily Skrutskie’s futuristic pirate book, The Abyss Surrounds Us, is a real treat and one that I do highly recommend.

     9. Diversity & #ownvoices

Ever since I’ve started reading more diversely and started reading #ownvoices, I’ve definitely started enjoying my reading more. I’ve had less DNF’s than I’ve ever had before. So it definitely is something I look for and something that definitely attracts me to a book.

    10. The author

I’ve got a ton of favourite authors that I practically auto-buy for. Anna-Marie McLemore is a new author that I’ll always read her new releases, she’s a fantastic writer with a beautiful prose and stories full of magic and wonder. Elizabeth Wein writes some of my favourite female characters and female friendships, she’s also another auto-buy.

🌺🌺

What are some of the things that make you want to read a book?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read a Book (Top Ten Tuesday – 18/04/2017)

  1. Ooooh pirates is a great one! I definitely haven’t read enough books about pirates. I’ll have to check out The Abyss Surrounds Us. Great list! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Hope you enjoy if you get around to reading! I’ve heard Pirates! by Celia Rees is a good one, but haven’t read it yet. And Daughter of a Pirate of a Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller came out a couple of months ago which is on my wishlist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

