The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere #2) by Heidi Heilig (Review)

review

31285684Title: The Ship Beyond Time (The Girl From Everywhere #2)

Author: Heidi Heilig

RATING: ★★★★★

Buy THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE at Book Depository

Buy THE SHIP BEYOND TIME at Book Depository

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Last year I read The Girl from Everywhere, Heidi Heilig’s debut SFF time-travelling novel, and I LOVED it. You can read my review here, but I basically praised the characters, the character dynamics and interactions, the setting, and the SFF elements. I loved EVERYTHING. I especially loved Kash. So I was fairly sure that I was going to love this one too, and no surprise, I did. I loved it even more than The Girl From Everywhere, which I didn’t think was possible.

The Ship Beyond Time picks up immediately after the events of The Girl From Everywhere, and it’s straight back into the action. As her father gives up trying to save Nix’s mother, and erase Nix’s existence in the process, Nix’s dreams of her future become a possible reality. But then she learns that she’s destined to lose the one she loves and she can’t bear the thought of losing Kash, not when their relationship is only just beginning to blossom.

As another Navigator promises Nix the secrets of changing the past, Nix and the crew of The Temptation travel to a utopia in hopes of avoiding Kash’s fate. The novel revolves around questions of fate and free will – can the past be changed?

Heilig has a lush prose that makes her books really easy and pleasant to read. It’s not too convoluted and it’s full of emotion and lush descriptions. Ker-Ys was so vividly depicted you felt that you were there, exploring the dark tunnels and the lavish castle alongside Nix. Heilig makes the character so real, that you feel emotionally invested in each and every one them (except maybe Blake — I seriously dislike Blake). They’re so complex and curious, willing the change the past for love. I, once again, adored Kash. I adore his devotion to Nix, his wit and his charm. I really enjoyed reading from his POV (more please!). I admire Nix’s independence, intelligence, and her kindness. The “villian” was complex too, his motivations based on power and recognition. He wasn’t a simple villian though, because he thought he was doing a good thing — but in the end fate and destiny got him.

As a history geek I really enjoyed the blending of present, magic, history and mythology, and Heilig does it so seamlessly. If you’re a fan of history, time-travel, science fiction, or mythology, I would highly recommend this action packed, well-developed series.

Leave a Reply

