The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) by Brittany Cavallaro (Review)

review

 

T30256105itle: The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2)

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Last year I read and rather enjoyed Brittany Cavallaro’s first book, A Study in Charlotte, in which Sherlock Holmes and John Watson were in fact real and their descendants carry on their legacies. You can read my review here.

So when The Last of August became available for request, I jumped at the chance. The Last of August takes place several months after the life-or-death events of the first book, and Charlotte and Jamie are taking turns spending the winter holidays at their families houses. The tense atmosphere is palpable at the Holmes’ Sussex estate, and Jamie learns that Charlotte is not the only Holmes full of secrets. When Charlotte’s Uncle Leander disappears whilst investigating an art forgery ring, Charlotte and Jamie are once again in pursuit. Charlotte and Jamie travel to Berlin in search of Leander, and in order to uncover his whereabouts, the two try to solve the art forgery ring themselves, and they might just need the help of August Moriarty. But soon the investigation turns perilous, and Charlotte and Jamie discover dangerous secrets about their families.

I didn’t like this as much as the first one. Whilst the plot was compelling it seemed a lot more convoluted than the first book, and I think I missed the murder mystery vibe and the boarding house setting. Nevertheless, if you are a fan of YA mysteries, I would recommend this series.

As for the characters I really enjoyed Charlotte. She has a very distinct personality, though she is very secretive and withholds a lot of information and because Jamie is narrating it’s very frustrating for the reader. She did narrate a couple of chapters later on in the book and I really enjoyed them; makes me want a book from her POV.

What also made this less enjoyable was Jamie: He mopes around a lot, it got kind of boring. I do like their dynamic, but I’m wondering if I preferred their relationship as platonic rather than romantic.

Overall, whilst I think this is maybe a lacklustre follow up to A Study in Charlotte, it’s still enjoyable, if not a little cliché at times, and the series will definitely appeal to fans of YA mystery.

One thought on “The Last of August (Charlotte Holmes #2) by Brittany Cavallaro (Review)

Leave a Reply

