Silver Stars (Soldier Girls #2) by Michael Grant (Review)

review

30374760

Title: Silver Stars

Author: Michael Grant

RATING: ★★★★☆

Buy now at Book Depository

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Silver Stars is the second in the Soldier Girls series by Michael Grant. Following on from Front Lines, Silver Stars (still narrated by our mysterious ‘writer’) takes place in the summer of 1943 as the war effort turns its eye towards Italy.

Silver Stars is a faster paced book than Front Lines, but at nearly 600 pages it’s still a hefty book and at times it does drag. Generally, I don’t think I enjoyed this as much as Front Lines. The main reason for this was that both Rainy and Frangie seemed to be pushed to the side a bit for the sake of Rio’s story, especially Frangie. This was disappointing and its probably the reason this is getting four stars instead of five. I also felt that Silver Stars wasn’t as emotional or intense as the first book, so overall I didn’t enjoy it as much.

Once again, the characterisation and development continues to be fantastic, but like I said, I feel that Rio got a lot of the focus and development out of the three girls. Finally, I think that Silver Stars felt more disjointed than the first book and the ending felt a bit rushed. This review probably sounds more negative than I found it, I’m just a little disappointed that this wasn’t going to be another five star read like Front Lines, but I’m going to continue with the series because I do love Frangie, Rainy and Rio, and I’m very interested in who is narrating the events.

Nevertheless, I do think this is an original, honest, and well-researched historical fiction.

I would highly recommend to historical fiction fans and anyone looking for alternate history books.

4 thoughts on “Silver Stars (Soldier Girls #2) by Michael Grant (Review)

  1. Interesting review, out of question, how well do you think this stands up as a novel on its own? Or would you have to read the first title to appreciate it?

    1. You would definitely have to read the first in order to fully appreciate the character development which I think is the strongest aspect of both books. On it’s own, it’s definitely a good book, but compared to the first it’s a little underwhelming.

Leave a Reply

