Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

review25164304

Title: Of Fire and Stars

Author: Audrey Coulthurst

RATING: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Princess Dennaleia has been betrothed to the prince of Mynaria since she was a child in order to protect her homeland from their hostile enemies. Yet Denna has a secret – a very dangerous one. She has an Affinity for fire, and in Mynaria magic is forbidden. Denna finds that her Affinity is powerful and spontaneous than it has ever been, and she can’t control it. As Dennaleia settles into her new home and her new power she attempts to befriend Princess Mare, sister of her fiancé. Yet Mare is unconventional and not so friendly. But the two join forces as assassinations, secret plots and dangerous conflicts arise, and soon they become more than friends and the two must decide between following their hearts or their duty.

When I first read the premise of Of Fire and Stars I was beyond excited. I don’t think that it necessarily lived up to the hype that I was expecting, but I do think Of Fire and Stars would have been a fantastic YA fantasy had it not been so slow-paced. I enjoyed the romance, the political intrigue, and the distinctive narratives, but the sluggish pace stopped this from getting higher from me.

Denna’s and Mare’s hate-to-love relationship was what I enjoyed most about Of Fire and Stars. I loved their budding friendship and slow-burn romance and their absolute unabashed devotion towards one another. I enjoyed their characterizations – how distinct their personalities were and how each relied on each other to deal with the upcoming crisis, but were still independent enough to be enjoyable. I will be looking forward to the next in the series to see their development.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a fantasy novel with a f/f pairing.

Leave a Reply

