Be Good Be Real Be Crazy by Chelsey Philpot (Review)

28458996Title: Be Good Be Real Be Crazy

Author: Chelsey Philpot

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Be Good Be Real Be Crazy was a book I requested on a whim – I had read some excellent things about Chelsey Philpot’s debut, Even in Paradise. Yet I felt Be Good Be Real Be Crazywas an average read. It was a quick, light read but it was one that it did not leave a big impact on me.

Homer has fallen in love with Mia, a mysterious girl who happened upon his fathers’ shop in Florida. But now Mia is moving away, and Homer can’t bear to see her go so he, along with his brother Einstein, drive her to her new destination, hundreds of miles away. In case you didn’t guess it, this book is a road-trip book. Yet it was one I felt didn’t quite hit the mark.

Homer was a bit of a dull character and I found that it was Mia that made this book worth reading, along with other side characters such as his brother Einstein and his fathers, and the people they met on their journey, such as Renata. I didn’t feel connected to the characters at all, even the ones that I rather enjoyed. I didn’t feel that there was much in the way of plot – what exactly was the point of the story? I don’t know. Honestly. Finding themselves? Homer pining over Mia?

Though I did enjoy Philpot’s writing and I enjoyed the style of it, I just couldn’t connect with the characters nor the story. It was still a quick summer read, and one I would recommend if that’s what you’re looking for but it was certainly lacking something that would have made this a memorable read.

Like I said, I enjoyed Philpot’s writing and I think she has talent, but I don’t think that this book was one for me.

Leave a Reply

