I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil (Review)

23594354Title: I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Author: Gretchen McNeil

RATING: ★★★★☆

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Bea is a math genius headed for MIT, so she develops The Formula in order to save her friends from a final year of bullying, designed to put her friends in the top social circles of high school. Gabe, one of her best friends, is now in with the popular clique, on his way to being Student Body President, and Spencer is getting his art skills noticed. Bea decides to use The Formula on herself when her new boyfriend Jesse dumps her for the new “Manic Pixie Dream Girl” at school called Toile. But soon The Formula begins to have terrible consequences for her friends and herself, and she has to figure out a way to reclaim her identity from “Trixie” and fix the mess her Formula has made.

I really enjoyed Gretchen McNeil’s Don’t Get Mad duology so it’s safe to say that I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl was a highly anticipated read for me. Whilst it’s very different in terms of genre to her other books, it didn’t disappoint, and I really enjoyed it.

I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl is a fun, quirky, mostly light-hearted, feminist book that subverts the sexist “Manic Pixie Dream Girl” trope. A highlight of the book was Bea’s development throughout the novel, from Bea as an unapologetic math genius, to “Trixie”, manic pixie dream girl, in which she completely reinvented herself in order to win back Jesse, and then finally deciding she didn’t need to change herself. She’s funny and has an authentic voice which is great.

I also adored the romance, which I won’t say much more of in fear of spoiling, but it is super cute and super shippable. Whilst the romance is great, I loved the friendship between Bea, Spencer and Gabe, too. Whilst they have their ups and downs, and some conflicts arise, I really enjoyed how their friendship and relationship played out.

Honestly, though. I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl is a fun, quick read with some super loveable characters. I’d recommend to contemporary lovers.

Leave a Reply

