Assassins: Discord by Erica Cameron

29618746Title: Assassins: Discord

Author: Erica Cameron

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Buy now at Book Depository

Disclaimer: I received a free copy via NetGalley for review purposes.

Kindra has grown up in a family of assassins and thieves, and she has been raised to be the exact same thing. However, when one mission goes wrong, she starts to question everything she’s ever known and done, and she questions her orders on the current mission. Things go wrong and Kindra ends on the other side of the mission with a group of people she used to see as family, protecting the man her family was hired to kill.

I liked Assassins: Discord – it was action packed, fast paced, with a big conspiracy thrown into the mix. If you are looking for a f/f thriller then I do highly suggest picking this up. So while I did enjoy it, it didn’t manage to wow me.

The beginning of the book was a little bit confusing. We were thrown into the action and the mission that I feel like I would have liked more of an introduction to the characters and the mission. I had a lot of question of who was who and what was happening. As an action movie, this opening probably would have worked pretty well, but it didn’t translate very well on paper. Assassins: Discord was a little too action heavy and very plot driven that sometimes it felt like characters took a back seat to the plot/mystery/conspiracy. I didn’t feel like Kindra was as fleshed out as she could have been, we got a lot of internal dialogue but we didn’t actually get a sense of what she was really thinking or feeling so I felt a little disconnected to the characters.

I would have liked more development on their past – two families full of assassins and thieves who have raised their children from a young age to do the same is a great premise but not executed as well as it could have been. I would have liked to have seen more of this element and more of an insight into her childhood and past, without this it felt unrealistic. And I would have loved to have seen more of Kindra’s relationship with her brother (I really liked them both). Assassins: Discord did really well for representation – bi girls, intersex, asexual characters, so that is a positive as well.

While I felt a little disconnected to the characters sometimes, I did still like them. Kindra was headstrong, smart, and motivated. Dru was cocky, compassionate, and stubborn. I enjoyed their relationship as well and their dialogue was full of banter and wit.

Overall Assassins: Discord is a decent read, a good thriller and mystery read, and while lacking in character development still worth a read if you are looking for a f/f thriller.

Leave a Reply

