My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier (Review)

30194130Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

My Sister Rosa follows the story of Che’s sister who he suspects of being a clinical psychopath. Che is torn between his love for her and his fear of her. Che is the only one who knows how dangerous his sister really is, how she likes to hurt things, and make trouble. How capable she is of violence. And how very little she cares. But she’s also good at hiding. And nobody believes Che, not even his parents who just accuse Rosa of “acting out”. Che and his family are moving, due to his parents business, once again, this time to New York and Che is scared that the new city will provide Rosa with new, dangerous opportunities. Che, whilst juggling new friends and romantic entanglements must try to protect Rosa from the world, but also the world from Rosa.

I went into My Sister Rosa with high hopes, seeing some raving reviews at how great this psychological thriller was. Yet I was left a little disappointed. Not because of Rosa and her games, but because of how boring I felt Che as a narrator was. I enjoyed the psychological thriller aspect and how Rosa kept the reader on their toes, and especially that twist at the end, but otherwise this was quite a slow-paced book and Che was certainly boring if you took away the suspense surrounding his sister.

I did, however, enjoy Che’s relationship with his sister and the complexity of it. I especially enjoyed his relationship Leilani and sweet Maya, and Sojourner, including her relationship with religion. I even appreciated Che’s familial bond with Rosa conflicting with his fear of her dangerous nature and how tiresome she would be to look after, and I also appreciated the informative nature of the book in regard to psychopathy (though I don’t know much about psychopathy so I cannot say how representative/accurate it is).

Overall, whilst I think that there is a lot to appreciate in My Sister Rosa and I did like it, I think Che leaves a lot to be desired. But seriously, this is a great psychological thriller and Rosa is a force to be reckoned with, so if that is what you’re looking for I would definitely pick this one up.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Pre-order at Book Depository

2 thoughts on “My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier (Review)

  1. Rosa sounds like a great character that will make a story interesting, sorry to read that the narrator is ruining this potential.

Leave a Reply

