Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup (Review)

26244576Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

I’ve been thinking about my rating for Frannie and Tru for a while now. I originally had it at four stars, but when I look back, it didn’t leave a massive impact on me, so I’m moving my rating down to three; for me that means an enjoyable, but average, read.

Frannie thinks her cousin Truman is coming to stay with them for the summer because his parents found out that he’s gay, and they’re so upset and need “time” to deal with it. Frannie is moving to a new school as her parents can no longer afford her private Catholic school tuition, and she’s losing her friends too. She’s all set for spending her summer alone, until Tru arrives. Frannie wants to make the most of the summer so she befriends this rich, confident and outgoing boy, and together they embark on a magical summer.

I didn’t feel much actually happened in Frannie and Tru. I enjoyed Tru’s characterization immensely, but I felt at times Frannie was an irritating character – she was kind of obssessed with Tru, kind of racist and homophobic too (which she is called out on). She was shy, and Tru brought her out of her shell and she did grow as a person throughout the novel, but I couldn’t emotionally connect with her at all, and this lessened my enjoyment. I enjoyed Tru and Frannie’s friendship, how the two were polar opposites, and I enjoyed Tru’s relationship with his other friends. Frannie and Tru also has some good discussions about race and sexuality.

I do think this is a good summer read with some important messages about race and sexuality, and about teen insecurity, but apart from that I don’t think this book offers much in the way of ‘plot’, and it’s purely a character driven novel.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Buy at Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup (Review)

Leave a Reply

