Please Don’t Tell by Laura Tims (Review)

26198834Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

Trigger warning for rape.

After Adam Gordon hurt her sister, Joy gets the ultimate revenge: she kills him. Or did she? Joy can’t remember the night, but Adam ended up dead and she had the motive. And someone saw her do it, or at least they say they did. Joy must do what the blackmailer asks and expose the towns secrets, or risk going to prison for the murder of Adam. But the demands get more and more intense, and Joy finds herself falling for Adam’s half brother. Joy goes on the hunt for the blackmailer before things escalate even further.

Generally, I really enjoyed this one. I loved the exploration of the dark and complex relationship between Joy and Grace. Whilst I would have enjoyed a more healthy relationship between the two, I think it did a good job in portraying a complex, jealously ridden, and rivalry soaked relationship, whilst also exploring the undying love and devotion between the two sisters. Please Don’t Tell also explores PTSD from Grace’s attack, which has an impact on all her relationships around her, including her sister. It was the strong characterisation that made this well worth the read.

I found that I rather enjoyed the suspense and mystery surrounding Adam’s death, and the quick pacing, which made this a quick and easy read. Did Joy kill Adam? Who is the blackmailer? What did Adam do to Grace? The mystery and suspense was enough to keep me reading.

It was a bit predictable in the end, which is why it dropped half a star, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. It’s probably not the best YA murder mystery out there: I’d probably recommend Dangerous Girls over this one, but I think it’s a solid debut, and I think I was perhaps in the right frame of mind to really enjoy this one.

RATING: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Leave a Reply

