You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour (Review)

29848950I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley for review purposes

Mark and Kate go to the same school, and have sat next to each other for an entire year but never uttered a word to each other. However, one night Mark and Kate meet in a club during an unexpected and wild night in the city. Kate is scared, running away from a chance to meet the girl she knows through a friend, who she may be in love with from afar. Mark is in love with his best friend, Ryan, but is unsure whether he feels the same way. However, Mark and Kate become friends and little do they know that they need each other to help navigate through their complicated lives.

I only just found out about You Know Me Well when it popped up on NetGalley, and I’ve especially wanted to read Nina LaCour’s book Everything Leads to You , so I thought You Know Me Well would be a perfect opportunity to introduce myself to the author and I thought this book was really good. I thought it was a really fun book, yet it did have a seriousness to it and it addressed some important issues.

I did have some problems with it, which is why I gave it four stars instead of five but it didn’t lessen my enjoyment too much. Firstly, Mark and Kate’s friendship was very insta-friend, and that felt a little unrealistic. However, I really enjoyed their relationship and their dialogue together. I really liked that they found each other and they shaped each others lives and gave each other support when they really needed it. It shows that sometimes a stranger can become a really close friend who understands you better than those you’ve known for years and I guess I sort of liked that. I also really loved the complexity of both Kate and Violet’s and Mark’s and Ryan’s relationship.

I really liked both Kate and Mark, and I liked their development throughout the novel. However, I feel like their personalities weren’t as well written as they could have been, at least initially, as we saw more of their personalities shine through in the second half on the novel, but a little too late for my liking. But, it didn’t lessen my enjoyment too much.

Overall, a really good read about the complexity of sexuality, teen romance, and friendships.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Pre-order now from Book Depository

3 thoughts on “You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour (Review)

Leave a Reply

