A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes #1) by Brittany Cavallaro (Review)

23272028Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

A Study in Charlotte follows the adventures of Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes, who are descended from the famous John Watson and Sherlock Holmes. Jamie Watson has just been sent to America on a rugby scholarship to private school Sherringford, which also houses Charlotte Holmes, who Jamie has admired since he was a child. Despite a rough start to their relationship, a murder of a fellow student at Sherringford, staged suspiciously like one of John Watsons stories, brings the two almost-rivals together as they are framed for the murder. Only Charlotte Holmes and her family traits can help prove them innocent.

I was, thankfully, pleasantly surprised by A Study in Charlotte, which turned out to be a nice, quick paced, and compelling YA murder mystery.

I enjoyed both James and Charlotte’s characterizations and how they were similar, but also different, from their ancestors. I specifically enjoyed their interactions and the development of their relationship from forced-together-because-we’re-murder-suspects, to reluctant friends, to a budding-romance.

I thought the plot was well thought out and almost-perfectly executed. I did feel at times it was a bit predictable, and the villain seemed quite cliché, but there were moments of suspense and thrilling antics that made this quite a good read.

Whilst at times it felt a bit cliché, I thoroughly enjoyed A Study in Charlotte, and I would recommend to fans of YA mystery.

RATING: ★★★★☆

3 thoughts on “A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes #1) by Brittany Cavallaro (Review)

  1. This has been sitting in my TBR pile at home since it came out. I need to get on it. I get nervous with Holmes stories/spinoffs, but it was an instant buy for me when I read the synopsis. Glad to read others are liking it!

Leave a Reply

