A Fierce and Subtle Poison by Samantha Mabry (Review)

25810644I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley for review purposes.

There is a legend, about a cursed girl with green skin and grass for hair. Legends say she feeds on poisonous plants, they say she can grant wishes, but they also say that her touch is deadly. Lucas lives in his fathers hotel during his summer visits to Puerto Rico, and he has grown up listening to the legend of the cursed girl. One day Lucas’ new girlfriend disappears and he starts to receive strange letters in his room. He turns to Isabel for answers, and he soon finds that her strange world is connected to his.

A Fierce and Subtle Poison is also another book that I am conflicted about. I really enjoy magical realism, and the premise of this sounded really great. Unfortunately, it fell short of my expectations.

Lucas, our main protagonist, is not a very unlikeable character. He is boring, and all his focus and attention lies around girls and partying. This focus took attention off the actual interesting aspect of this book – the cursed girl and her legend. I would have much preferred more attention being focused on Isabel. I actually would have preferred this book to be from her POV. I really couldn’t care much for Lucas and his obsession with girls, his lack of concern for his newly deceased girlfriend, and his haste to move on to other girl.

That being said, I did enjoy Isabel and I did enjoy the mystical/magical element of her curse but I wanted more of her past and wished her character had been fleshed out a bit more. I enjoyed Samantha Mabry’s writing, and her descriptions. I enjoyed the setting, and I found the story line and mystery interesting albeit predictable.

Overall, a decent read which I would probably recommend to fans of magical realism.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

