Flawed by Cecelia Ahern (Review)

I received this free from the publishers via NetGalleyFlawed-cover

Celestine North lives a perfect life in a perfect society. She is deemed perfect when some others are deemed flawed. Those who are flawed have deviated from society’s accepted norms and behaviours – they have sinned. Those who are found to be flawed are branded with the letter F depending on their ‘crime’ – in order for society to achieve a real ‘perfect’ world, free from sin such as lying and cheating. Celestine has never really questioned those rules that determine who is flawed and who isn’t – until one day out of compassion she finds herself being branded flawed. Out of anger, the judge gives her a sentence of five brands, the most anyone has ever got, but in the secrecy of the branding chamber she is given a extra one out of spite and hatred. She then finds out that the system and its people are in fact, flawed.

I did not have too high expectations going into Cecelia Ahern’s Flawed, despite it’s intriguing premise. However, I felt like Flawed was a decent dystopia but it is lacking in certain areas. I felt like our main character Celestine was the best aspect of this novel. She had a really distinct voice in my opinion. She was very logical, she saw the world in black and white, right and wrong and I enjoyed seeing her view of her society change throughout the novel and her development as a person.

There were some overused tropes in Flawed, such as Celestine being used as an poster girl for a ‘rebellion’ of sorts, that she does not embrace. There is some romance, but I like how it isn’t at the forefront and while there are some aspects of insta-love, I believe the development in the sequel has an opportunity to be really good.

I think the world building was the worst aspect. While I appreciate what Cecelia Ahern was trying to achieve, I think the world building had a lot of work to do. I believe it was a tad simplistic and I would have liked to have found out more about the judges themselves, the police, the system itself, and other parts of society. I believe there is a lot of potential for the world, but it was not explored as much as I had hoped.

One thing I think that Ceceila Ahern also did really well was Celestine’s relationship with those around her – her sister, her boyfriend, etc.

Overall, a decent dystopia that does have potential but it was lacking for me somewhat. But if you are a fan of dystopia, then I would probably recommend.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Buy now from Book Depository

Leave a Reply

