This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang (Review)

24039424Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

I’ve heard fantastic things about Amy Zhang’s writing since her debut Falling into Place. I was lucky enough to receive an eARC of This is Where the World Ends and experience her beautiful writing first-hand.

This book contains rape, so if that is something that triggers you I would avoid this book.


Janie and Micah have known each other for a long time. They were best friends and also polar opposites. But Janie, on her way to high school, keeps their friendship a secret. As
they navigate their unhealthy relationship, Janie then goes missing and Micah is left to pick up the pieces of what she left behind and to figure out where and why she’s gone.

There were certain aspects of Janie’s personality I enjoyed. She was carefree, a dreamer and imaginative, and so full of life, but the way she treated Micah was emotionally manipulative. Micah was a bit of a dull character, so I never really emotionally connected with him. Their relationship is toxic. This is Where the World Ends portrays a very unhealthy and very manipulative relationship between Janie and Micah. Janie does not treat Micah like a friend, and so I was never really behind their ‘romance’. I’m not sure we are supposed to be.

This is Where the World Ends
is written with dual narratives, Janie and Micah, but Micah’s chapters alternative between ‘Then’ and ‘Now’, and Micah’s ‘Now’ chapters were very confusing and disjointed and thus made it very difficult to read and follow what was going on.

This is Where the World Ends
also deals with a very sensitive topic – rape. It’s not exactly a perfect portrayal but I think it highlights the grief that comes with such an ordeal. Though at times I felt that it was used just as a plot device.

I think the reason I enjoyed this book so much was the beautiful metaphorical writing by Zhang, and I will be sure to keep an eye out for any new books that she writes.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Buy Now at Book Depository

 

Leave a Reply

