Assassin’s Heart (Assassin’s Heart #1) by Sarah Ahiers (Review)

25733273Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.


Actual rating
: 3.5

In Lovero, there are nine rival assassin families, and Lea Saldana is a member of one of the most skilled. One day she wakes to find her home on fire and her family murdered – and she believes the Da Vias are responsible – the Saldana’s enemy. Lea believes it is partly her fault as she is in a secret relationship with a member of Da Vias. Lea feels guilty and heartbroken at Val Da Vias possible betrayal, and so she sets out with one thing on her mind – revenge.

I was really looking forward to reading Assassin’s Heart, but I was a little disappointed to be completely honest. Whilst I enjoyed Lea as a protagonist, I never really connected with her. She was a strong character, intelligent and tough; mentally and physically, but there was something missing. I didn’t really enjoy the romance; it felt it was kind of unnecessary. I would have enjoyed it much more if Val and Lea’s dynamic was explored much more, especially as it had a Romeo and Juliet kind of vibe.

What I most enjoyed about Assassin’s Heart was the mystery; why did the Da Vias kill the Saldana’s? Why was her uncle estranged? I thought that the world-building, the murder-mystery vibe, and the religion were great aspects of Assassin’s Heart. Just unfortunately not enough for me to give it a higher rating.

Generally, Assassin’s Heart is quite a good high fantasy novel, but I felt it difficult to connect with Lea as a protagonist, and I felt that the romance + the sort-of love triangle was unnecessary.

RATING: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)

 

Leave a Reply

