Reign of Shadows (Reign of Shadows #1) by Sophie Jordan (Review)

24657660Disclaimer: I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

The kingdom of Rehlok is cloaked in darkness. In the darkness, there are monsters called Dwellers who attack and feast on humans. Luna was born on the eclipse seventeen years ago. In the chaos that followed, the Chancellor killer her mother and father – the King and Queen of Rehlok.
Luna was taken to the safety of a tower in the Black Woods. Braving the woods, Luna meets Fowler, an archer, and Luna finds herself drawn. But when her tower is attacked, Luna flees with Fowler for a chance at survival.

At first, Reign of Shadows reminded me somewhat of the Disney movie Tangled. There’s a lost princess in a tower and a mysterious stranger who happens upon her. From there it diverges to its own story. I enjoyed the world-building, and the perpetual darkness that cloaked the Kingdom. I enjoyed both Luna and Fowler as protagonists, but I was attracted to Fowler’s narrative more. However, for me, the instant love and attraction between the two was what lessened my enjoyment of the romance. I thought Luna was an admirable character; strong, capable, selfless and caring. She was disabled. (view spoiler)

Another problem I had was that not much happened. A lot of what occurred through the novel was travelling and finding themselves in dangerous situation. There were some plot developments, but only towards the end and even then there was not much development. It ended on a cliff-hanger, and I’m hoping the sequel has more story progression.

Overall, an enjoyable high fantasy that compelled me to read on, but not one I’d read again.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Pre-order at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

