Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley (Review)

24795912I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

The Bronte siblings have always been inseparable. In their isolated home in the moors, their imaginations helps them escape their lives and lands them in the world they created. The costs to visit the world they created is high, and they now have to decide whether they have to let their worlds go to keep hold of their real lives or lose themselves, even if their characters won’t let them go.

I am going to be completely honest – I have never read a Bronte novel. I always have a hard time reading classics – I find them incredibly dull. From what I have gathered from other reviews, Worlds of Ink and Shadows would be more enjoyable with no knowledge of the Bronte siblings or their works. So perhaps that is why I enjoyed this novel. I really love stories about other stories, so I think that is why I enjoyed it.

A riveting, engaging and enchanting story which really does take you into another world. It was a tad slow at times, and it was sometimes hard to distinguish between the different POVs, more so at the beginning, and once the story got going and the characters got more developed then it was easier to distinguish between them.

A novel that I would recommend for people who love stories about stories and historical fictions. Also, I would recommend for fans of the Bronte sisters. Obviously it might not be your cup of tea, but I think you should give it a go.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

