A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis (Review)

24376529I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

A Madness So Discreet was a highly anticipated read for me, made even better by the hauntingly beautiful cover.

Locked up in a Boston asylum by her Father because of her pregnancy, Grace Mae loses her voice but cannot lost those memories and secrets. Her voice returns along with a burst of violence and Grace is exiled to the dark cells in the basement alongside the most insane. Attracting the attention of a criminal psychologist because of her sharp wit and tongue, Grace escapes the horrors of the Boston asylum and finds herself in Ohio and a more ethical institution, as she aids the doctor at crime scenes and tries to unravel the mystery of a serial killer.

I was so interested in so many aspects of A Madness So Discreet, particularly the new study of criminal psychology and the questionable practice of frontal lobotomies. I loved Grace as a character and even at the start of the novel before her voice returns she’s a remarkable protagonist. I particularly enjoyed the relationship Grace had with the other girls in the new asylum in Ohio, and I was saddened by certain events that take place, which I won’t elaborate on. I did feel that the story lost a bit of its engaging atmosphere as the story progressed, hence the four stars and I wasn’t all that satisfied with the ending, but I thought it was a haunting novel and the characters were fantastic and well-developed.

A fantastic, haunting historical fiction that I suggest you keep an eye out for.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

