Tonight The Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales (Review)

25799146I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

Arden Huntley is recklessly loyal and she looks after everyone, it makes her feel like she matters. But now she is tired of being taken for granted, and not being appreciated. She feels as though she loves people more than they love her. While searching the internet she stumbles on a blog called ‘Tonight The Streets Are Ours’ and becomes fascinated by Peter and his life. One day she decides to take a trip to New York to find him.

The cover was what initially drew me to Tonight The Streets Are Ours, and then the fact that Leila Sales was the author was so much better because I loved her previous novel This Song Will Save Your Life. But after finishing I am really conflicted about whether I like it or not. I had some issues with it, for example, the cheating, the ‘stalking’, and how she called people selfish for looking out for themselves. However, in the end I did enjoy it and some of the messages it ended with. So that is probably why I’m only giving it three stars.

Some of the characters were a hit and miss. Arden was and okay character, but I had a lot of issues with her, especially with her obsession with Peter, he perception of people putting themselves first, but in the end she had some great development and she learnt some good lessons. Lindsey was a favourite and I really wish she had been in it more. I really did not like Peter, even online Peter, he was not a good person, but I think that was the point.

Overall, it really paled in comparison to This Song Will Save Your Life, but it isn’t a terrible read and in the end, it has a good message – not everyone is who they are online.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Pre-order now at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

