The Suffering (The Girl From The Well #2) by Rin Chupeco (Review)

24789796I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

Tark, with the help of Okiku, track down murderers and avenge their victims so that their souls may rest. But when someone from Tark’s high school dies at the hands of Okiku, Tark starts to think that they are no better than the people they hunt down. But when a friend of Tark’s goes missing, both go to Japan to uncover secrets and find out what really happened in Aokigahara.

Perhaps I just wasn’t in the mood for The Suffering when I read it and that is why I didn’t enjoy it as much. I may give this another go in a few months because I really did enjoy the first in the series, The Girl From The Well. It isn’t a long book and written well, so it is a quick and easy read – when I finally got out of my reading slump.

I don’t think this series is particularly ‘scary’, which is good because I’m a wimp. Although I’m pretty sure if the sort of things in this book was made into a film then it would scare me half to death, as it is harder to create that fear on the page. But this series is undeniable creepy and chilling and unnerving and I absolute love the originality and the unique and diverse setting that we don’t see much in YA books.

I loved the characters as well, although Tark got on my nerves a little bit but I’m not sure why. The plot was original and unique with original supernatural elements, but I felt bored, but I don’t know if that was on my part, perhaps I wasn’t in the mood for this type of read.

Overall, I didn’t get much enjoyment out of this one, but I will definitely recommend that you read the first in the series, The Girl From The Well. Hopefully, when I come back to this later, I’ll enjoy it more.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

