Never Never by Brianna Shrum (Review)

24517738I received this free from the publishers via Netgalley

James Hook is a boy who wants nothing more than to grow up and be a man. Peter Pan is a boy who never wants to grow up. One day James Hook meets Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens and suddenly he is enticed by the idea of Neverland, and soon asks if Peter will take him away to Neverland for a holiday – but he makes clear he wishes to return to grow up. Soon Hook is betrayed and he longs for home, but he can’t get back for Peter won’t take him as Peter wants him to stay. Soon Hook starts to grow up and become a man, more than just a man – a dark and angry pirate.

I was so excited when I got accepted for Never Never because I love anything Peter Pan and Neverland related but Never Never really did disappoint me.

Let’s start with the characters. I never really connected with any of them, but I never really disliked or liked any of the characters either, I just felt indifferent.

Never Never is a retelling of Peter Pan, and tries to give us motivations for Hook and his hatred towards Pan. He was a good man turned bad due to events and circumstances, yet I never really got the sense of his hatred or his pain, it all just fell rather flat to me. It also bugged me how he said something along the lines of ‘Do you dare question me?’ alot. Peter Pan was passed off as the sort of ‘antagonist’ of the novel, which isn’t hard to imagine as Pan has always been mischievous and cunning.

The plot fell a bit thin and predictable to me, so it lost my interest pretty fast, and it was a lengthy novel which made it much more of a struggle to get through.

(view spoiler)

Overall, I’m not a fan, but due to the fact it’s a retelling of Peter Pan and its darker tone, I think others may like it.

MY RATING: ★☆☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

