The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy (Review)

23597782I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

The Creeping was a great atmospheric horror. Twelve years earlier, Stella and her friend Jeanie vanished. Stella showed up minutes later with no memory of what had just happened, and Jeanie never showed up again. Now, Stella is seventeen and is looking forward to a summer of fun and freedom, and is famous in her town as the one who survived; a town which has a dirty secret. Then a new body is found and Stella can’t help but think it’s related to Jeanie’s and her disappearance. Suddenly, memories start flooding back and Stella is determined to find out what’s plaguing the town.

I don’t read a lot of horror, partly because I’m a big softie and get scared very easily. Yet I’m so glad that I picked this one up because it’s a great horror with a cleverly plotted murder mystery. At one point, I had to put it down because it was getting super creepy.

I didn’t enjoy the romance aspect at all, in fact I found it completely unnecessary. Yet it didn’t overshadow the plot and I still found it an enjoyable read. I didn’t really like our protagonist Stella or her friend, Zoey who I thought was a horrible person, but the mystery, suspense and the horror made up for it.

Overall, a generally good and enjoyable horror story with some fantastic twists, and a neat resolution.

RATING: ★★★★☆
Pre-order at Book Depository

One thought on “The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy (Review)

Leave a Reply

