Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman (Review)

23719270I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

Kate Thompson finds her father hanged from a tree, murdered by the Rose Riders for a journal which contained a map to a hidden gold mine. Kate disguises herself as a boy and ends up on the road of vengeance with a thirst for the blood of the Rose Riders. Along the way she finds gun fights, poker games, dust storms and a pair of brothers who ride in her shadow the whole way.

Vengeance Road has given me a serious case of book hangover and I have a feeling this book is going to stay on my mind for a very long time. I need a physical copy of this book just to hold this work of art in my hands.

So, I wouldn’t call myself a fan of western movies and to be fair I haven’t watched an awful lot despite the fact my dad watches at least one a day. But I can see the appeal of this time period and after reading this book I am pretty in love with the atmosphere and I’m pretty positive I need more books like this in the YA section for the simple fact that I haven’t read anything like this with such a hint of originality.

As I have mentioned before, I loved the atmosphere of Vengeance Road. There were cowboys, gun fights, a gold mine, and a gang of murderous riders. I think what really added to that atmosphere was the narrative and writing style. I don’t know if there is a particular word for it but it was written to be read with an accent, and while it was a bit hard to read at first, I soon got used to it and I think it really added to the book.

Kate was a character I adored. She was ruthless, wild and fueled by anger but also vulnerable and have a kindness in her. I loved the Colton brothers as well, who were also great and the back and forth between them all was really great and entertaining.

The plot was exciting and suspenseful with numerous twists and turns, and there was never a dull moment. A truly engrossing read which shows how greed for gold creates madness and monsters of men.

So, saddle up because Vengeance Road is going to take you for a thrilling ride. Yeehaw! (Cheesy, I know, but I couldn’t resist).

MY RATING: ★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman (Review)

Leave a Reply

