A Time To Reap by Jonas Lee (Review)

22921548I received this free in exchange of an honest review

I feel so terrible because I got asked to read and review this book months ago and I literally have only just picked it up because I was drowning in both NetGalley books and university work – literally – and I finally have a little breather before I have to go head first into my dissertation so I thought I best read this while I can, otherwise it would have probably taken me another 6 months to pick this up.

Anyway, on to my review. A Time to Reap was a good debut novel which was fast paced and action packed. A Time to Reap had a large amount of originality which was a positive and I liked it and I felt like the power aspect was really well developed, and the world building was decent but a lot of the time I felt confused about what was happening and sometimes it felt like the plot was a bit all over the place, but perhaps it was the time-travel aspect which just confused me.

I liked Carter, he was witty, sarcastic and funny. I felt he was the most developed character out of the lot and some of the other characters, such as his mother, just felt a little flat and underdeveloped. One problem I did have was the romance between Carter and Mo. It was a bit too insta-love for me, too much happened at once. While I enjoyed their team work and friendship, I think their romance may have worked better had it been a slow-burn romance.

There were many twists and turns and I think fans of time travel and science fiction may enjoy this one.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

