The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward (Review)

25510225I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

The Princess of Nova creates a love potion meant for her crush, but it doesn’t go according to plan and she slips the potion to the wrong person, causing her to fall madly and deeply in love with…herself. A nationwide hunt is called for the cure, leading to some of the best alchemists travelling to the corners of the world looking for the rarest ingredients. One of these is Samantha Kemi, her family used to be the most respected and best alchemists in the kingdom until a megapharma company took the spotlight. Now Samantha Kemi has to join the hunt in order to restore her family name.

This sounded like a really fun book when I requested it on NetGalley, but unfortunately while reading it, it didn’t feel fun, just dull and weird. However, had I been younger, I have a strong feeling I may have enjoyed this a lot more. My reading tastes have changed drastically over the years, and this book just isn’t for me. So it definitely is a it’s not you, it’s me type of books.

Like I said earlier, I felt like it was just a bit too silly? It that the word I’m looking for? I’m not sure, but it just felt a bit too ridiculous, wierd and cliched. The villain was just cliched and cheesy and predictable. Maybe that was the intention, you know? It was definitely light hearted with some romance, so maybe it was supposed to weird and cliched like some rom-com. So this is entirely a personal preference, but yeah, it just wasn’t for me.

The characters felt flat, and dialogue felt stunted and overly dramatic. So overall, a light hearted easy read with unicorns and magic and if that’s your type of thing, then you probably may enjoy this. Unfortunately I didn’t.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

2 thoughts on “The Potion Diaries by Amy Alward (Review)

  1. Bummer! Sounds like it had promise. I hate it when a book lets me down. I’m struggling through Pulse by Patrick Carman. Great premise, but in serious need of editing. Too many POVs to count!

    1. That’s a shame! Sorry to hear that, really does suck when you aren’t enjoying a book. And yeah it did have promise, I was hoping it would have a fairy tale feel to it, but I think I might have been a bit too old to appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

