One by Sarah Crossan (Review)

24957531I received a free copy via edelweiss for review purposes.

I was initially drawn to One because of the cover, because it is lovely. Then I read the synopsis and I knew I needed this book in my life. I’m a twin myself, though not conjoined, but I really did feel connected to both Grace and Tippi. One is an emotional and moving story of two totally connected girls. It is written in verse, which is a first for me, and so One is a quick and easy read – but tissues are required.

Tippi and Grace share everything, even their body. They’ve lived their entire lives together, so being so close is normal for them. They don’t know any different. And they love each other, so why risk separation when it is so dangerous? But then their bodies are fighting against them and they have no choice but to face up to the thing they have been avoiding their entire lives.

It is rare I find a book that captures the essence of twins so honestly and realistically. I’m not conjoined, and I don’t know what it is like. But I do know what it is like to have that one person you are so undeniably close to. That you don’t know what you would do without them. In that respect, I totally understood Grace and Tippi. How much they adored each other. I don’t want to say much else for fear of spoiling so I’m jut going to stay how much I loved this book.

Such a great, honest, raw and moving account of two girls who can’t live without each other.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Pre-order at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

