Get Dirty (Don’t Get Mad #2) by Gretchen McNeil (Review)

23261510I received a free copy via edelweiss for review purposes.

Spoilers for the first book, Get Even.

Last year, I read Get Even and it left me breathless. I didn’t think that the sequel would be able to reach my very high standard, because that’s what happens with sequels, right? I was wrong, though. And I didn’t need to worry because Get Dirty surpassed all my expectations. I couldn’t stop reading. I was hooked from the first chapter, and I kept saying to myself, “Just one more chapter, then I’ll put it down.” But I didn’t. I couldn’t, because I needed to know who the killer was.

Get Dirty picks up practically right away after the jaw-dropping cliffhanger that was Get Even. Bree is in Juvie, Margot is in a coma, and Kitty and Olivia need to figure out what the hell they’re going to do now. Just as they think they’re about to fight back, Ed the Head reveals something that confuses everyone even more. To make things even more complicated, the girls have their personal crisis’ to deal with; Kitty and Donte are drifting apart and it seems he is keeping a secret from her, Bree is out of juvie but stuck under house arrest, and Olivia’s mother is spiralling out of control. With the killer threatening everything they care about, they have no choice but to confront the killer.

As with Get Even, my favourite part about Get Dirty were the characters and their dynamics. I love Kitty and she is by far my favourite, but the other girls have a special place in my heart as well, and their personalities a distinct and they’ve all grown as characters since the last one. I didn’t care much for the romance because I was so focused on the mystery, but it does add a bit of a lighter element to the story.

Get Dirty was just as addictive as Get Even, perhaps even more so because I knew I’d be finding out who the killer was. Which was a surprise! (view spoiler)The mystery and thriller aspect is great because it had me on the edge of my seat more than once. It’s so cleverly plotted with clues throughout – the plot is a very enjoyable aspect.

A great conclusion to an amazing duology, and McNeil really has a talent for writing mystery and thrillers. I might have to check out her other works because Get Dirty has left me with a serious case of book hangover.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

