Kissing in America by Margo Rabb (Review)

I23149145 received a free copy via edelweiss for review purposes

3.5

Margo Rabb is a great writer, but Eva’s infatuation with Will and love annoyed me, and what she did to Annie was unforgivable. Still, a great narrative about dealing with grief.

Eva is a hopeless romantic. No one understands why she reads romance novels featuring half naked cowboys. She does. She reads them to dull the loss of her father. When she meets Will, he’s the only one who understands her grief. As soon as Eva starts to fall in love with Will, he moves to California, and Eva concocts a plan, along with her best friend Annie, to travel to across the country to see him again. On this road trip across America, Eva finds out what love really is.

As I mentioned before, I do think that Margo Rabb is a great writer, but I don’t think that made up for how much I didn’t really like Eva. She’s naive, immature and selfish. She is completely devoted to Will and love and it had damaging consequences on Annie, her best friend, and Eva’s relationship with her, and in the end, was it worth it? Did Eva grow as a person? I sure hope so but it isn’t as evident as I would have liked. Everything is pretty much quickly resolved despite the conflict that Eva’s selfish act caused. On that note, I did enjoy the narrative about death and grief and coming to terms with that loss. I just felt that the outlandish romance and field trip to follow a guy across the country was unneeded, but I guess it sells, right?

I enjoyed Annie, and Eva’s mother, and the cowboys and crazy ladies on buses. I would have loved more focus on friendship, less boy-crazy romance. Nevertheless, for people looking for a honest and raw account of grief and don’t mind a lot of bogged down romance, I think you’ll love this one. It was certainly the most enjoyable part aboutKissing in America and the reason this has 3.5 stars from me.

RATING: ★★★☆☆ (3.5)

Leave a Reply

