A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (Review)

24480684I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley

Feyre’s family have hit hard times. Due to a promise she made her mother before she passed away she spent her childhood and teenage years learning to hunt and look after her family. One day, on a cold winters day she spotted a deer being pursued by a wolf. Desperate for food she had no choice but to kill the wolf which had consequences she never expected.

I absolutely adore Sarah J Maas’ other series Throne of Glass. I was expecting so much from A Court of Thorns and Roses just for the simple fact that Sarah J Maas is one of my all time favourite authors. Looking at other reviews and rating, I do seem to be in a minority with my opinions on this, but it was quite disappointing. While I thought the writing was pretty good, I thought it was lacking compared to her Throne of Glass series, perhaps it was the simple fact that this one is written in first person.

The world building itself was decent but it could have been better. I would really have loved seeing more than one village and two separate courts. I did like the different types of faeries and other mystical creatures. I think they were the best aspect of the world building.

I liked the characters as well. Feyre was my favourite character and I felt like she was a really interesting and complex character with vulnerabilities – which I liked. I liked Tamlin and how much he cared for his court and people. He was genuinely a nice guy, yet he was also very alpha male as well. Lucien, well I’m pretty sure he is my second fave, he’s fab and I love him lots. Rhysand was not a very likeable character, I really did dislike him, yet he was an intriguing character.

One problem I had was the romance. I just did not feel it, I didn’t feel the love they supposedly felt for each other and I did not feel the chemistry and that is one of the reasons this book felt short for me because it revolved so much around the romance.

Another main problem was the plot. I thought A Court of Thorns and Roses had a really strong start, and I initially thought I would love it, but then it did really start to drag. It didn’t really get exciting until the ending with the trials, but even then some of it really dragged.

So, overall, a decent read but I personally can’t rate more than three stars. Fans of fairy tale retellings will probably like this as well.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Buy now at book depository

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas (Review)

  1. Since the release, almost everyone raved about how great this book was, I haven’t had the chance to read this or The Throne of Glass series but it the premise sound really good. (I do like retellings.) I enjoyed and appreciated your honest review!

Leave a Reply

