Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee (Review)

20320562I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

*I really shouldn’t leave it so long to write my reviews as I’m never any good at them when I leave it so long but too much work…*

Carr Luka is one of the best at the weightless sport of zeroboxing. He dreams of winning the championship and after a great fight he gets a new contract who want to make him a star. He is assigned a marketing strategist Risha, and the two soon fall in love. Carr becomes an inspiration on earth but his life is soon turned upside down when he discovers a secret about himself which changes everything.

This was a pretty decent read, but I guess I was expecting more. I should probably learn from my mistakes and stop having too high expectations for books. I felt like the world building was pretty good, but it could have been better. I found the plot to be good, but as someone who isn’t a sport fan, it just was not as interesting as it could have been so it is more of a personal thing. Saying that, it was an original take on boxing and it was done really well. There were some intense moments, but I felt like it dragged a lot. I found the ‘criminal’ element intriguing and fairly suspenseful.

The characters were pretty decent and I felt like Carr was very well developed and complex. The secondary characters however, I thought fell short as it not as much attention was given to the secondary characters as there was to Carr. They were all likeable enough, but all fell a little flat to me. Same with the romance, as it felt rushed. However, one positive is that is was not at the forefront of the story.

Overall a good science fiction read, and it you are a fan of sport and boxing then this is a must read.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

One thought on “Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee (Review)

Leave a Reply

