Undertow by Michael Buckley (Review)

22749788I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

One day, warriors started emerging from the Ocean. They are called Alphas – a race of ocean dwelling warriors. The human race are worried, paranoid, hateful which soon turns to violence. They are forced into a military zone, human are not allowed in and they are not allowed out. Until one day when some of them are allowed to attend the High school. Lyric has always been different and has always tried to stay in the shadows. She now has to help the crown prince – Fathom – to help him assimilate with humans.

The first 20% of this book seemed extremely similar to the tv show Star-crossed. In Star-crossed an alien race crash land on earth, are forced into a military camp and are guarded day and night and some of the aliens are forced to go to school in hopes of living a peaceful co-existence. The first part of this book is very similar. However, there were also some differences.

I had originally rated this four star, but I’ve had a lot of time to think about it and I’ve lowered it to three stars. I personally really enjoyed the characters. Especially Lyric and Fathom and I really loved their chemistry and I liked how their romance developed. I felt like the secondary character could have been more developed and fleshed out, but I still really liked them.

Overall, a good fantasy read.

(I also wish I didn’t leave it so long to write this review…)

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

2 thoughts on “Undertow by Michael Buckley (Review)

Leave a Reply

