Book rambles (April 2015)

I haven’t read many NetGalley books this month, and I have been swamped with university work, so I’ve just done some little rambles about books I’ve read this month – which have actually been pretty good reads.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab

23403402 (1)Victoria Schwab does it again! She really is a truly gifted writer and I have loved every single book she has written, both Vicious and The Archived. So when I saw A Darker Shade of Magic and it’s beautiful cover, it was pretty hard to resist.

This was everything I was expecting and more. Magic, thieves, sadistic rulers and three separate London’s, everything you could ever want in a book. The world building is absolutely fantastic, and each London is so unique and different and that just shows what a truly gifted writer Victoria Schwab is. The characters were really well written and developed, and I really loved their interactions with each other – I especially loved the meeting between Lila and Kell. Overall, a historical fantasy book you just don’t want to miss.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository


The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

9780007321988_ZI went into The Demon King with high expectations, but fortunately it did not disappoint. I thought the world building was splendid . I loved the mix of clans, wizards and royals and it was all very well done. While the pacing was slow, I never really found myself getting bored which is always a bonus. I really loved the interactions between Han and Raisa, just a shame it was only a couple of chapters, I would have loved to have seen more! I personally did not like how the women were treated just how they were treated in medieval society – sort of the same as now – when I felt that when having wrote a whole new world women could be treated differently and equal to men. Overall, a great high fantasy book that I will definitely be carrying on with.

MY RATING: ★★★★☆

Buy now at Book Depository

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater 

22978079My love for these characters grows with every book.

I have no idea how to review Blue Lily, Lily Blue without repeating everything I said in my previous reviews of the other books. I just know that this series gets better and better and I love these characters so damn much. And I ship Gansey and Blue to the ends of the earth. I love how multi-dimensional Maggie manages to make all her characters. I love how much they love each other. I love Ronan and how scared and angry and lonely he is. I love Adam’s development and his self-reliance and his stubbornness. I love Noah and how he feels like he’s losing himself but his friendship with Blue is 10/10. I love Gansey and how he waits by the phone. I love Blue. I love Blue and Gansey. I love Ronan and Adam.

I guess it’s safe to say I love everything about this bloody series.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

She Is Not Invisible by Marcus Sedgwick

21248666I am a fan of Marcus Sedgwick ever since I read Blood Red, Snow White and I have been slowly making my way through his books.She Is Not Invisible is written fairly simple that makes for an easy read, and allows you to easily get to know the characters. I think this is a great book, especially as it adds light on how society reacts to disabled people, and those who are visually impaired and the protagonist Laureth Peak is blind. Therefore She Is Not Invisible adds some diversity and originality to the YA contemporary genre, which is really great. Some great characters, with some good development and relationships with a nice mystery thrown in. Overall, an enjoyable and refreshing read.

MY RATING: ★★★★☆

Buy now at Book Depository/Audio

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

5280621I don’t know why it has taken me this long to read Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson because it is a emotional, honest and important read. I recently read All The Rage by Courtney Summers – another honest and gritty read – and I decided it was about time I read this as well. It focuses on the silence that women go through after they have suffered sexual assault. The pressure that is put on them by society, so I do believe this is an incredibly important read that is a must read. We need to change the way society thinks about women who have been assaulted and their forced silences and we need to end the victim blaming. Overall, an incredibly important novel which encourages speaking out even when we feel we can’t.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

The Winner’s Crime (The Winner’s Trilogy #2) by Marie Rutkoski 

23276983That ending has me aching for the next book. I was legit on the edge of my seat because of how tense it was!

Since I read The Winner’s Curse, I have admired Kestrel for her wit and intelligence. This has not changed, and Kestel is so fierce and smart and I really love her character. I preferred Kestrel’s chapters than Arin’s because he seemed a lot more…whiny. Nevertheless, these two are my OTP.

The suspense in The Winner’s Crime is fabulous, even if the story drags a little in the middle. It is full of courtly politics and political manoeuvring that the politics and history geek is me got all excited.

I can’t wait for The Winner’s Kiss.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

3 thoughts on “Book rambles (April 2015)

  1. I have A Darker Shade Of Magic, The Winner’s Trilogy and The Raven Cycle on my TBR shelf! Good to know you loved them; I cannot wait to start reading them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

