Half Wild (Half Bad #2) by Sally Green (Review)

22811612I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

DNF – 40%

Half Wild is the sequel to Half Bad. Nathan is on the run from the hunters. Nathan needs to find Gabriel and rescue Annalise from Mercury. His father Marcus gave him three gifts to confirm that he is now a full adult witch. Nathan now has to learn to control his Gift, something powerful and dangerous. The war on Black Witches is now expanding across Europe, and Nathan has joined forces with enemies and friends to fight the council.

I really enjoyed Half Bad when I read it last year. You can read my review here. I loved the original take on witches. While the first book was slow I never found myself getting bored. However, with Half Wild I really did, hence the 2 star rating and DNF. Like i’ve said a million times before, I don’t really like reviewing books I haven’t finished so I am just going to explain why I didn’t finish.

First of all, I was not really fond of the writing. It just felt off to me, perhaps it is just because my reading tastes have just changed with time, and what I didn’t mind with Half Bad just wasn’t enough for Half Wild

There was a quote that I really did not like about 6% in the book.

‘Her skin is soft and skin-coloured’

What is skin-coloured? This quote is when Nathan is describing Annalise, and we know she is white, so is having white skin considered skin-coloured? What about people of colour? Are they not skin-coloured? Seriously? It just stinks of racism to me. You need to remember that this is an ARC, so perhaps they have changed it in the final edition – I really hope so.

I found the plot repetitive and boring. Perhaps it picks up in the second half of the book, but in the first half, Nathan had an obsession about Annalise and finding her. It was constant. Annalise is a character which feels really flat and boring to me, with no personality so having the plot focuses around finding her just bored me.

Overall, a disappointing sequel which did not hold my attention and I have little time to read in general, and I don’t want to waste that time with books I am not enjoying. There are many positive reviews, and this is just a personal opinion.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

4 thoughts on “Half Wild (Half Bad #2) by Sally Green (Review)

  1. I read Half Bad about a year ago and couldnt wait to get my hands on Half Wild, but the problem was by the time it got published I’d completely forgotten about everything that happened in Half Bad! So that was really annoying… I still haven’t bought Half Wild because I feel like I’ll either love it (like Half Bad) or I’m going to hate it and it’s going to be a disappointment. Most of the time I end up feeling the same way as the people that didn’t really like it… Let’s see what happens. Unfortunately I’m going to have to read Half Bad all over again just to remember what happened and make sense of the second book. T.T

    1. The fact that I forgot a lot of Half Bad was a problem with me too, but I did start to remember when I started Half Wild, Sally Green does sort of gives bits of information from the past.

      I think it perhaps might be because it is a middle book, usually sequels are like that before they round it all up in the last book. I’ve heard the ending was pretty good, but I couldn’t push myself through it.

      Maybe check your local library? Maybe that way you don’t have to spend any money until you find out if you enjoy it or not!

      It seems i’m in a minority in my review, so I wouldn’t let it put you completely off if you want to give it a go, I hope you enjoy it more than I did if you get around to reading it 🙂

      1. I’ll definitely check it out cos I hate not finishing once i’ve started a trilogy! Let’s see how it goes! Thanks for everything!:)

Leave a Reply

