Mind Games by Teri Terry (Review)

18664167I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

DNF – 40%

Luna is a Refuser because she has trouble fully existing in the virtual world because part of her is still in the real world. Luna tries to cover this up and to keep her secret. She has trouble keeping her secret when she is selected for testing. However, Luna starts to hope of a better future, and that can be dangerous.

I requested this purely due to the author, Teri Terry as I really enjoyed Slated. However Mind Gamesjust did not capture my attention at all, and left me unsatisfied, hence the DNF. While I can’t recommend it or dissuade anyone from reading this book because I haven’t finished it, I’ll still review what I read.

In terms of world building, I was not that impressed. I did not really get a sense of this virtual world and I felt like it was not explained or shown as much as it could have been. How did they enter the virtual world? So there were questions which weren’t answered in the first half, and it really affected my enjoyment because I could not fully dive into the world and dystopian society. I also felt like, in terms of world building, some background information might have been useful, for example, how did the world end up like that, using virtual technology? Also, I’m really not that tech savvy, so a whole book and plot based around technology and virtual worlds just confused me and did not interest me. To be fair, those who enjoyed The Eye of Minds by James Dashner would probably enjoy this one, as they have some similar aspects, however, James Dashner does explain the connection between the body in the real world and the virtual world better than Teri Terry.

In terms of the characters, I personally did not think they were very fleshed out at all and had a hard time connecting with any of them. They felt quite two-dimensional and I did not really feel any of the bonds between the characters. Especially between Luna and Gecko as I felt their dialogue was stilted and forced and it just felt a bit awkward to me.

Overall, I felt like it lacked world building and depth to the characters.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Buy now from Book Depository 

Leave a Reply

