Conspiracy Girl by Sarah Alderson (Review)

24915821I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

Nic witnessed her mother and step-sisters death. The media wouldn’t leave her alone and soon every knew about the Cooper Killings. Years later, Nic is trying to live a normal life, but her traumatic experience has made that difficult. She is paranoid and does not trust those around her. One day her high security apartment is broken into and she nearly loses her own life. It seems as though the killers are back to finish the job.

I didn’t particularly like Conspiracy Girl. I felt it was very dramatic, far fetched, theatrical, and in a way it was cliche. I haven’t read any other Sarah Alderson, but I heard good things, especially about her Hunting Lila series, so I thought I might as well give this one a shot. Unfortunately it just was not for me. Looking at reviews and ratings, I also seem to be in the minority about Conspiracy Girl so perhaps it is a ‘it’s not you, it’s me’ type of books. I guess it just was not my cup of tea.

Conspiracy Girl was high paced from the start, and I felt as though this pace continued throughout. Also, I had already guessed the big plot twist at the end, perhaps I watch too many thriller/mystery/action movies and tv shows, so it really did not come as a surprise to me at all, which was another let down.

I never really connected with the characters such as Nic or Finn, and the romance was just not for me either. Perhaps that was just because I was not invested in the book or plot itself that I struggled to get invested with the characters and the romance.

Overall, this book was not for me, but it seems to be a hit with a lot of other readers.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Buy now at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

