Firefly: Ice Born by P.M. Pevato (Review)

WebI received this free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Emeranne Goode is a part of a coven of witches in Snow Valley. One day, when Ems is in the forest, she stumbles upon a brutal murder of a witch. There is a new danger for the coven of teen witches, and all eyes are on Ems. Ems also dreams of a forest full of fireflies and a boy on the ground. Bennett Bassett is an immortal witch hunter, but he is conflicted between his humanity and his duty. While Ems and Bennett become closer, secrets are revealed and lives are put in danger.

Around a year ago I read Firefly by the same author – you can read my review here. P.M. Pevato took into account her readers views and constructive criticism and went back and revised her novel. There has been a lot of improvement and it is very noticeable that she listened to her readers. I rated Firefly 3.5 stars, so you can tell I enjoyed the revised version more. In my other review I mentioned that the second half lost it’s mojo a little bit, which is why it let me down a bit. However, Firefly: Ice Born definitely had more tension and suspense in the second half and did hold my interest for longer.

The writing was much more improved. I felt like it flowed more and it made the story feel more magical. I particularly liked the dream scenes, they were definitely my favourite aspect of this novel. The plot itself did keep me turning pages and it was quite riveting. The effort that the author put in to create this magical world is obvious and it paid off because the world building is pretty good. The cliffhanger was pretty good as well, and really does leaves you wanting the next one.

Now on to the characters. Firefly: Ice Born is told in two different point of views, Ems and Bennett. Personally, while I really liked Ems, Bennett was a favourite of mine, which is a change from the first draft and I felt like his creepiness went down a lot. I thought he was a really well developed character and I was really interested in his past, and how he disliked what he was and how his humanity got in the way. I also really liked Ems as I felt like she was strong, independent and driven but just so normal – minus the witch part. She was just an average girl for the most part. She hung around with her friends, ate pizza and cake and I really loved that. I think that is why I really liked the relationship with her friends. They were all so supportive of each other.

The romance was much improved in this version. It was more developed, less forced, and it wasn’t really at the forefront. The main story took the main focus of the story.

Overall, a much improved version. A must read if you enjoy paranormal romance.

MY RATING: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Amazon UK / US. Also available on S & H Publishing, iTunes, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords.

One thought on “Firefly: Ice Born by P.M. Pevato (Review)

Leave a Reply

