2015 BOOK HAUL SO FAR

WP_20150321_0082015 has, so far, been a pretty hectic year. Because of that, my reading habits have suffered. And so have my book buying habits. It’s probably a good thing – my bank account is relatively safe!

Some of the books I bought have been because I wanted to check out more UKYA (See: The Sin Eater’s Daughter and Unspeakable) and others because I have been lusting after them for months.

WP_20150321_001I picked up the A Clash of Kings on a whim because of a 2 for 3 offer. I had read A Game of Thrones last year, and it took me 7 months. Yes, you read that right, SEVEN MONTHS. Don’t get me wrong, I loved it. It was as fantastical and as raw and you’ve heard it is. But I wasn’t sure whether I was willing to go through the inevitable emotional trauma several months it would take me to finish A Clash of Kings, never mind the rest of the series. I’ve never read anything by Patrick Ness (cue the disappointed sighs), but Megan has and she has since convinced me I need to pick up one of his, hence More Than This. As for The Miniaturist, I had heard a lot of good things, and this one was more on a whim too.

WP_20150321_015

These are my two most recent buys from the Book Depository, and for the first time I got a bookmark! As a big fan of Marie Lu I was desperate to get my hands on The Young Elites. I’ve not yet started as life is hectic at the moment, but once it calms, this will be the first one I pick up! As for Speak, I’ve longed to read something of Laurie Halse Anderson, and Megan was desperate to get her hands on this particular book. I’ve heard it’s a fantastic and a powerful book, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

WP_20150321_017

Since I saw the beautiful cover for The Sin Eater’s Daughter and alluring premise, I’ve had it on my wishlist. So when I saw it in the book store, I couldn’t stop myself. I mean, look at it? It’s gorgeous. And, it’s UKYA and I’ve actively tried to make a point to support British authors this year. The same goes for Unspeakable, and as it is an LGBT book, I’m more the eager to read this one. As for Tiger Lily; well, who doesn’t love a good retelling? And of Peter Pan? It was one I’ve had on my wishlist for ages, and one I have finally managed to get my hands on.

WP_20150321_021

As many of you probably know, The DUFF has recently been adapted for the big screen and it stars Robbie Amell and Mae Whitman. And it looks great. So, naturally, I picked this up and I’ve already started reading it (but as per, life has gotten in the way). I can’t wait to get it finished, and get myself to the movies.

So all in all, a pretty successful year so far, and some pretty great books I can’t wait to read.

2 thoughts on “2015 BOOK HAUL SO FAR

  1. I really enjoyed the Duff, hope you enjoy it. I am looking forward to the film. I also saw The Sin Eater’s daughter in a book shop and had to buy it. I am really looking forward to reading it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

