Finding Paris by Joy Preble (Review)

18530518I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

I admit that the cover for Finding Paris was what initially drew me into requesting this on Edelweiss. Yet I find myself bordering on hating this book.

The story focuses on sisters Leo and Paris and their close bond; they only have each other to rely on as their mother flits from city to city, guy to guy. They can’t trust their gambling stepfather, so it’s just the two of them – Leo and Paris against the world. Then Paris ditches her sister at a diner in the middle of Las Vegas with no money, no way home and with a strange guy. Then, Leo is led on a journey following cryptic messages left by Paris – but to what end?

The more this book progressed, the more absurd it became. Then at the end I was left feeling horrible because I didn’t like it all that much because of that guilt-trap of an ending. I don’t understand why Paris went to such lengths, there were easier, less traumatizing ways to go about such a sensitive topic.

I didn’t like the characters all that much either. I was dubious of Max from the moment he offered his “help”, and Paris, whilst I now understand her motives, seemed rather selfish. I enjoyed Leo as a character, her undying devotion to her sister, her dreams of leaving Las Vegas and being a doctor, but she flits from one emotion to another very quickly, and she falls for Max in an almost insta-love manner.

Overall, not a book I would personally recommend, mostly for the theatricality of it all.

RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

