Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2) by Lauren DeStefano (Review)

17558080I received a free copy via Edelweiss for review purposes.

First Impression: I didn’t enjoy Burning Kingdoms as much as Perfect Ruin. It seemed a lot slower and very much anti-climatic. Nonetheless, I enjoyed it and love the female friendships.

Review: I really enjoyed Perfect Ruin. So much so that I hadn’t even finished the first one before I requested the second.

Burning Kingdoms picks up immediately after Perfect Ruin, and the gang have just had their first steps on Earth. It’s different, they’re unsure and distrusting, Quickly, Morgan and her friends along with the others who escaped from Internment find themselves in the middle of a war. The ground is harsh and violent, and Morgan must try to save Internment, the only home she’s ever known, from the brutality of the Ground.

The pace was much slower in Burning Kingdoms. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, because DeStefano has such a beautiful and lyrical way of writing that it makes up for it. However, I think the world building was slightly lacking and seemed very disorientating because there were mermaids, but also speakeasies and black and white silent movies. It’s interesting, but I think it could have been done better. Secondly, I the characters are a lot more developed and I love the female friendships in Burning Kingdoms. First there is Pen and Morgan who are best friends, and who are completely devoted to each other. Then you see the development of Celeste and Morgan who begin a friendship, even if it is a rocky one.

Whilst the ending seemed a little anti climatic, I think it’s a good opening for something big and explosive in book three that I’m very much looking forward too.

Overall a very good follow-up to Perfect Ruin.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Pre-order on BookDepository, or Buy Perfect Ruin (Book #1)

Leave a Reply

