Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (Review)

18190280‘Did you know I always thought you were braver than me? Did you ever guess that was why I was so afraid? It wasn’t that I only loved some of you. But I wondered if you could ever love more than some of me.’

Tiger Lily is a fifteen year old girl who has been betrothed to Giant. She doesn’t believe in happy ending and she doesn’t believe in love. She starts to wonder the forest to get away from the eyes of the village and the violence of Giant. She runs into Peter Pan, the leader of the famous lost boys who have the reputation of being ruthless and violent. Tiger Lily however connects with Peter and she falls in love.

I would not really call Tiger Lily a love story. It is dark and grim and does not end with the happy ending you would expect. Tiger Lily is told in the perspective of Tink, and I really love that. We still are able to get close to Tiger Lily and Peter Pan, yet learn more about Tink. I am a huge fan of Peter Pan and I love the world of Neverland. I can’t even count on two hands the amount of times that I have sat down and watched something Peter Pan related, whether it’s the Disney animated films, the 2003 live action film, Robin William’s Hook, and Johnny Depp’s Finding Neverland, and each time I just fall in love with that world. I’m not sure what it is, perhaps it’s just because it is a memory of my childhood. But this was a new imagined version of Neverland. There is no second star to the right or flying lost boys, but I loved it nonetheless.

The main thing I love most about Tiger Lily was Tiger Lily herself. She was a great character, and one which has never really been explored that much before and I really loved that this book what focused on her and her tribe. I love Tink’s loyalty to Tiger Lily, even if at one point Peter Pan held her affections more, she eventually realised where her heart lay and that was with Tiger Lily and I really loved that. The jealousy was overcome and there was this sort of friendship between and I really loved that and it was my favourite aspect.

Overall a great retelling with superb world building with some great character development. There was also an important part in this novel about the Englanders imposing their religion and culture on the tribe, I think that was incredibly important part of history to represent.

MY RATING: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

Buy now from Book Depository

4 thoughts on “Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (Review)

  1. I remember reading this novel a year or so ago, and oh man, the writing and plot just made me breathless. Huge reading slump after reading this book.

Leave a Reply

