A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas (Review)

17930904I received a free copy from the publishers via Edelweiss for review purposes.

One of my favourite fairytales as a kid was Sleeping Beauty, so as you can imagine, I was beyond excited to read A Wicked Thing, where Sleeping Beauty wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince but doesn’t quite fall in love or have the happily ever after you might expect. If the premise wasn’t enough to draw me into this beautiful book, the absolutely gorgeous cover made it a done deal for me.

I had my issues with A Wicked Thing, certainly, but it was still a highly enjoyable read.

The pacing was slow, sometimes crawling at a snail’s pace, and sometimes it felt like nothing really happened. The world building lacked a certain depth that left you a little disappointed.

Yet I loved the characters. I loved Aurora who was intelligent, witty, kind but strong-willed and dreamed of bigger things — of not being trapped in a life where she has to marry the Prince, where her future is being set out as a strategy in a dangerous political game (yet her indecisiveness and inactiveness irritated me). I enjoyed Rodric as a character…his shyness, his kindness and easy smile but he left little impact on me. I also enjoyed the flirtatious, charming Finnegan even if he was very much a pretentious jerk, I very much enjoyed the character interaction between Finnegan and Aurora and I am hopeful of more snark between the two in the coming sequels. I did, however, feel that certain characters who I very much enjoyed (Tristan) almost completely disappeared and it deeply saddened me.

Overall, I really did enjoy A Wicked Thing and loved how it gave us something different. The characters were by far what made this book the most enjoyable, but the political intrigue and Thomas’ elegant writing also made A Wicked Thing highly recommendable.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

