The Cure For Dreaming by Cat Winters (Review)

20702018

I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley

Release date – The publishers website says October 14th, Book Depository says November 1st, and Amazon says October 1st, so I haven’t got a clue.

‘There is some of the unexplainable in me, ma cherie, but there is also a great deal of enchantment in you. Keep telling the world what you see. Help other to see it, too.’

One day, Olivia Mead stands outside the courthouse with a group of suffragist women shouting along with them for the right to vote. Her father fears she is no longer docile and she needs to be restrained before she becomes rebellious and gets herself in trouble. So, he hires a hypnotist to cure her ‘dreams’. The hypnotist is called Henri Reverie, and instead of making her accept the world as it is, he makes her see it how it truly is, while making her unable to speak her anger. Olivia becomes more determined to fight for the rights of women who, like herself, have had their voices taken away.

What a brilliantly vivid and fantastic novel. I got Cat Winter’s debut novel, In the Shadow of Blackbirds, for Christmas last year and I really did love it, especially the atmosphere Winters manages to make with the old photography, yet I found The Cure For Dreaming far better. A read that I thoroughly enjoyed and I would not hesitate to recommend either books from Cat Winters.

How can I not love The Cure For Dreaming? It had everything I ever want from a book. A strong willed independent female character that doesn’t want to rely on men, a romance that is based on equality, and a riveting story that keeps you engaged from the very first page, and a vivid historical setting.

Olivia Mead wants her life to be hers. She wants to make her own choices and go to college and get an education and a career. I highly admired her for that. She feared sometimes speaking out, but I loved her character development throughout the book, and I loved that vulnerability that she had. Henri/Henry was also a great character. He wanted equality between the sexes and even though he hated what he did to Olivia, he still did because he needed to and had no other choice and he didn’t see her as some fragile woman who can’t handle it. He tried his best to take is all away and make it up to her and I really did like their relationship development. I also liked that she was her own person, even when with him and she always wanted to follow her own dreams and find her own way out even when he offered her one. A definite positive.

The photographs in the book were great. It really does create the historical setting perfectly and it really adds to the feel of the book. If you buy this book, I really do suggest buying the paperback or hardback version because I believe that it will make your experience of this book so much better.

There were also some great secondary characters in the book, and some character that you were made to hate – rightfully so. Each character felt like they had so much depth to them. Cat Winters really is a fantastic writer, and I will be sure to pick up all future books of hers, because I feel they will all be up to the same high standard.

The Cure For Dreaming is a book that I would definitely recommend to anyone.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Pre-order from Book Depository

Leave a Reply

