Spectral Fathoms by Nathan T. Dean (Review)

23209647

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

I have absolutely NO idea how to rate this. I’m going with 2.5, though this could change.Spectral Fathoms is a weird novel. For a debut novel, it’s not all that bad. The writing style was neat, but wordy at times, and because of the weighty content, I think I got a bit lost. Perhaps somebody who is much more into these types of books (strange books that makes you question your sanity), would enjoy Spectral Fathoms a lot more than I did and I encourage you to give it a go.

I’d attempt a summary, but I’m not at all sure what I’d write. It involves a dead Grandmother, a girl who talks in third person, a drug dealer, a WET THING (yes, a wet thing), and Jacob and The Bastard and the Doormouse and it’s all so weird, but not exactly in a bad way, just a different way that it left me sort of befuddled.

Spectral Fathoms, is at times, slow, strange and rather dizzying. A lot of the time I found it difficult to follow what was going on, and the perspectives shifted abruptly, too. I found Jacob an uninteresting character and thus I felt detached. I enjoyed Coralie (the girl who talks in third person) as a character, though she is not seen much. There’s also a lot of drugs — which isn’t really my thing. If you’re in ardent opposition to drugs, I’d perhaps steer clear of this book. The ending also seemed rather anti-climatic.

Overall, certainly not a bad book, but one that I didn’t find as much enjoyment in as I would have liked. It was also too weird for my liking.

It’s also not a long book, and it’s cheap on Amazon (released 15th September), so I do encourage to go give it a go.

RATING: ★★★☆☆ (Actually 2.5)

Leave a Reply

