Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick (Review)

16059938

I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley

Release date – October 7th

Britt Pfeiffer has spent months training to go backpacking with her best friend, and she is horrified, yet thrilled, to find out she has to be accompanied by her ex-boyfriend Calvin. However, an unexpected blizzard ruins her plans and she ends up abandoning her car in the middle of the road and seeking shelter in a cabin with two strange guys. She is soon taken hostage and forced to guide them off the mountain.

My feelings are so mixed about this book. While there are some issues, and I can understand why people don’t like it, there were some aspects I liked, e.g Britt’s character development was superb, but then some aspects left me feeling a bit unnerved.

When I read Hush Hush, I really liked it. However, that was years ago, and my reading tastes have definitely changed, so I wasn’t sure if I would like this at all. I originally rated it 3.5, but having thought on it for a week or so, I changed my mind.

Lets start with Britt. I thought her incredibly stupid at the beginning. For starters, she started flirting with a guy she had never met, and on top of that, she was noticing things like he doesn’t know his way around the kitchen, no food is fully stocked, and for any normal person, these would start ringing alarm bells. But not Britt! She notices these, and then ignores it. Really? Who does that? Then throughout practically the whole book she is thinking about how attractive one of her kidnappers is. Instead of fearing for her life, she is too busy lusting after Mason. But I did like her development. At the start there was some quote about how she would go running to a man to be saved, but she soon learns to save herself in the end and I liked that development.

When I saw the book trailer for Black Ice, I remember saying ‘Oh god, I hope she doesn’t fall for her kidnapper’. Low and behold, that is exactly what she does. I wouldn’t call Mason a bad guy, he is actually a pretty decent guy and he just got caught up in some mess and he couldn’t find his way out. Ok, yeah, but Britt didn’t know that when he was forcing her to get him off the mountain, and I would have walked away from him at the very end, but I guess that’s me. I thought I would have liked the ending, you know, they would share a moment, and go their separate ways. Anyway, I guess the romance wasn’t too bad, but too rushed for my liking, and the way it was initiated, well I didn’t like that either.

I know the point of Calvin, was probably to make Mason seem like a good guy, despite what he had done. I did like the mystery, but I had guessed it really early in the book.

One thing I really didn’t like was the flashbacks. They would just be put in random places. They just didn’t really seem relevant. Ok, maybe some did, but certainly not all of them.

Anyway, those who liked Hush, Hush and are fans of the author should probably give this a go. However, if you hated Hush, Hush just don’t go anywhere near this.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

4 thoughts on “Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick (Review)

  1. Britt sounds like an undeveloped character – something I struggle with, too. Sometimes, the writer gets too close and can’t see the forest for the trees. They miss that their characters are reacting or responding “incorrectly” to their circumstances. “Correctly” being what the reader expects.
    Thanks for the review. It’s great to learn what works and what doesn’t about the ya books that are out there.
    cheers!
    Sue

    1. That’s the thing, in some places, she seemed well developed, but in others, not so much. And you are spot on, the reactions just didn’t suit the circumstances. I think Becca Fitzpatrick was so focused on creating a romance that she just ignored the appropriate response. Especially because she is sending the wrong message to so many young readers.
      It always good to find out what the YA audience likes and what they don’t, especially if they are your audience. 🙂

      1. I was on a writeoncon forum last month and one of the comments an agent posted related directly to this premise – don’t give her romances based on creepy guys stealing through your window. She didn’t want to read another query about a young woman falling for her captor.
        I call it “pathos” that bigger-than-life-dramatic-feeling that the author’s reaching for. They miss though, when the characters fall outside the realm of … well, let’s be nice and call it “smart.”

Leave a Reply

