Solitiare by Alice Oseman (Review)

20618110

“There comes a point, though, when you can’t keep looking after other people anymore. You have to start looking after yourself.”

Solitaire is a refreshing and brutally honest realistic fiction written by a teenager (Alice Oseman is only nineteen) for teenagers so it’s totally and utterly relatable.

You know what I loved the most about Solitaire? Tori. Whilst she’s cynical, sarcastic and rather mentally troubled, she’s realand it’s great to read and see her develop and I loved every second of it. I also loved Michael Holden and his bumpy touching relationship with Tori and how, at the end, it was all about acceptance.

The Solitaire aspect of the story invited mystery and suspense, and although I guessed early on who was behind it, the reveal is still rather spontaneous.

For a debut novel, Solitaire was fantastic and I’m looking forward to reading more from Alice Oseman in the future.

I would highly recommend to fans of contemporary realistic fiction, and fans of authors such as John Green.

A lot of thanks to Alice for sending me a free (signed & annotated throughout – this made my reading experience so much better. I won in an instagram giveaway) copy to read!

RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

