Of Monsters and Madness by Jessica Verday (Review)

19507564

I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley

Release date – September 9th

1820 Philadelphia, Annabel Lee has been invited to her father’s home after her mother falls ill. When she gets there she is greeted by gruesome murders which she suspects might have something to do with her father and what he does in his laboratory. She meets two men, Edgar and Allan. These fight for Annabel’s heart and attention, but both have a secret and know more about the murders than they are letting on.

I found this such a boring book. It may be a good read for some other people, but not me. From looking at the cover I expected a chilling read and I what I read was far from that. I felt none of the suspense about who the murderer was. I was not invested in the story. The plot twist did not shock me, and I saw it coming from a mile off. I mean Edgar and Allan? In a book about Edgar Allan Poe. This was such a disappointment, but that is just a personal opinion and don’t be completely put off by my negative review, if you really want to read this, then go ahead.

The characters were completely two dimensional, little depth or character development. The characters were flat and did not capture my attention. I didn’t relate to them at all and they were just a bore.

The romance was also flat. I saw no romance in her relationship with Edgar, who was demanding, possessive and aggressive. She was frightened by him and obviously she didn’t really have many feelings for him, yet the book synopsis says ‘She is torn romantically between her father’s assistants-one kind and proper, one mysterious and brooding’ yet I personally didn’t see it.

Overall, this book just wasn’t for me.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

One thought on “Of Monsters and Madness by Jessica Verday (Review)

Leave a Reply

