The House of Special Purpose by John Boyne (Review)

17428154

“It’s enough to make me laugh. I close the door behind me and sit down again, considering this, and truly, I find it so funny that I laugh until I cry. And when the tears come I think aah…
So this is what it means to be alone.”

It’s Russia 1915, and farmer’s son Georgy Jachmenev stepped in front of a bullet intended for a member of the imperial family. He is rewarded for his bravery with a job at the Winter Palace to protect Alexei Romanov, the future Tsar. Georgy’s life will be forever changed when he comes in contact with Rasputin, and is a witness to the revolution. Years later Georgy watches his wife Zoya on her deathbed, and he is plagued by memories.

What a fantastic read. I am surprised that not more of my Goodreads friends have read this. It is a heavy and long read, but it is well worth it. I knew the plot twist from the very beginning, but it didn’t lessen my enjoyment of the book.

I must say that John Boyne does not disappoint. I have loved every book I have read of his, but I must say that The House of Special Purpose is by far one of my favourites. It is a beautifully written, and entirely captivating read that I struggled to put down. It is written in two different timelines, when Georgy is living in London with his wife Zoya and his time from when he was at the Winter Palace. Each were equally as thrilling and enthralling.

The characters were fantastically written. Georgy was a favourite of mine. I liked his loyalty to the Romanov family. He was smart, and brave. I liked Alexei and the rest of the Romanov family. They all felt so real, and I really cared for them, despite having little contact with them. There was some really good character development.

Overall, a fantastic read, that I would highly recommend.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

