The Poppy Factory by Liz Trenow (Review)

22709730

I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley

DNF – 53%

Jess has returned from her tour in Afghanistan. She comes home and is haunted by the memories of war, and is struggling to fit back into society. She is bad tempered, she drinks a lot and she is plagued by nightmares. She finds her great grandmothers, Rose, diaries. In these diaries she finds a woman who is struggling to cope with her traumatized husband.

I am in no way suggesting that The Poppy Factory is a bad book. It just failed to capture my attention, and I felt like I had to force my way through to the middle. I was not getting any enjoyment in reading it, so I didn’t want to force myself to finish.

The characters were ok, yet I felt no connection to them, and some of the characters themselves felt a bit flat. Jess’ relationships with the people around her just held no chemistry and I didn’t really get any sort of feel for the characters. Rose’s story was better, yet it still failed to grab my attention for a long period of time.

I may come back to this sometime in the future, but at the moment I am putting this down.

This is just a personal opinion, there are some great reviews of this book on Goodreads, it’s just didn’t work for me.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

